Palindromes

My earliest memory of a palindrome is in my mother tongue, Tamil. My dad cheerily said, “mo-ru po-ru mo”, meaning, “Is that enough buttermilk?” (read each syllable as a letter as that is how appears in Tamil) and my older sister explained that it’s the same backwards. I was fascinated for sure.

Later, in high school, I fell in love with the topic again when we were taught to programmatically check for a palindrome using functions in BASIC.

I was thinking about this topic just a day or so ago and today chanced on this really neat video on palindromes. The narrator has a good sense of humor and talks about palindromes in many languages, and with spatial variations (reflective, rotated etc).

When I was in college, I mentioned to a friend from a different state in India, “Languages are different ways in which we twist our tongues.” I now think languages are different variations of how we twist our minds and then tongues. Palindromes give a nice twist to the words! Hope you enjoy this video.

Do share your favorite palindrome in a comment.

Palindromes by Robwords

Leave a comment